Three Gunas

9 Jan

three gunas4

Ayurveda emphasizes cultivated awareness of what we are eating, when we are eating, and how we are eating. Eating habits not conducive to health must be changed to stop the formation of new toxins. As mentioned previously, our eating habits are determined by the particular balance of our mental gunas, or qualities, including sattwa, rajas and tamas.

A sattwa mindset is what we should aim for. Rajasic and tamasic dominance in the mind lead to eating and lifestyle habits which are counterproductive to health. In order to assess your own mental constitution (and that of your students), you can make use of the following chart:

three gunas part one

three gunas part two

three gunas2

three gunas3

According to the ayurveda, medicines and foods are sattvic, rajasic or tamasic or a combination of these gunas. The gunas are three fundamental attributes that represent the natural evolutionary process through which the subtle becomes gross. When the three gunas are balanced, they keep the mind and body healthy. An imbalance, however, can produce mental and physical disorders.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: