Yamas and Niyamas

30 Nov

sample fmc

Yamas (universal principles)

Ahimsa: kindness, non-violence, compassion for oneself and for others. Be aware of how we treat ourselves, others and the environment. No harm ( Ahimsa ) is the fundamental attitude. Actually, it is not possible act without causing absolutely no harm, the recommendation is to always choose the action less harmful to others.

Satya: truth of thought, speech and communication. Judge words before to say them. You have to tell the truth when and only when it is good for others. Communicate honestly. Follow this rule in each and every aspect of your life. Be honest, be truthful, be kind.

Asteya: do not steal, do not take what is not belong to you. Theft is the result of believing that we lack something, which is contrary to the universal law of abundance.

Brahmacarya: sexual restraint, energy conservation, abstinence, celibacy. Sexuality is not denied, but should not be ruled by it.

Aparigraha: self confidence, not hoarding, not hoarding, not coveting, generosity in spirit and action. Have only what is needed and reject the rest. Aparigraha is a complement to asteya emphasizing voluntary poverty; means “to receive exactly what is right” in order not to create any obligation or ties.

Niyamas (individual precepts)

Sauca: cleanliness, purity, body care. To be clean externally at the physical level alone is not enough as far as yoga practitioners are concerned.  To be clean internally at the mental level is equally important.

Samtosa: To be at peace within and content with one’s lifestyle. Literally the word means happiness and satisfaction. It also means accepting the truth ‘as it is’.

Tapas: is self-discipline, willpower, austerity, burning desire, motivation, and dedication. Discipline doesn’t always have to be something harsh. It doesn’t have to be something that you follow because you think you ought to act in a certain way. It is how you care for yourself.

Svadhyana: The word ‘svadhyaya” can be divided into three smaller words. “Sva” means one’s Self, meaning the spirit, the atman, or the Inner Self. “Dhy” is associated to the word “dhyana” which means meditation. And “ya” is an activating suffix. Thus svadhyaya means “actively meditating on or studying the nature of the Self”.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: