Classical approaches of Yoga

30 Nov

sample fmc2

There are four classical schools of Yoga: Jnana Yoga, Bhakti Yoga, Karma Yoga and Raja Yoga.

Jnana Yoga: Jnana Yoga is the path of knowledge, wisdom, insight, and contemplation. It involves a deep exploration of the nature of our being, is performed by means of a systematic exploration and go false aside identities.
Bhakti Yoga: Bhakti Yoga is the path of devotion, emotion, love, compassion, and service to God and people. All action takes place in a context reminiscent of Divine.
Karma Yoga: Karma Yoga is the path of action, service to others, of being conscious, and always keep in mind the levels of our being while fulfilling our actions in the world, our karma.
Raja Yoga: Raja Yoga is an inclusive approach that emphasizes meditation, but encompasses or cover the entire Yoga. Deal directly to identify and transcend thoughts of the mind.
Texts of Yoga: There are many texts that describe the methods of Yoga. The Yoga Sutras, the Upanishads, the Bhagavad Gita and Hatha Yoga Pradipika are among the most importants. Especially notable is the text of the Yoga Sutras, which is a concise but thorough process scheme of Yoga as a whole, a process that leads to the goal called Yoga.

Yoga and the six schools of Hindu philosophy: To understand the true nature Yoga as a path of spiritual realization, it is necessary to know something about the six classical schools of Hindu philosophy or systems, as Yoga is one of them.

Darshana Yoga: Yoga Darshana is the oldest darshanas. The word darshana comes from the root drishyate anena, which means “that through which you can see. ” Here Darshana means a particular system that makes it possible to see Reality. Similarly as I you can look in a mirror, through Darshana Yoga, you can see the Self. Darshana is not the same as philosophy. Philosophy is a compound word meaning “love by knowledge “and darshana not a simple love of knowledge. This is one of the differences between Western and Eastern philosophy: the ultimate purpose Darsana is to see Reality. The Science of Yoga is based on Samkhya philosophy, which is the basis of all sciences. Samkhya (samyag akhyate) means “that which explains the whole”. Samkhya comprises the entire universe-how it came into being and all possible relationships within it.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: