Different Types of Yoga

30 Sep


Today we will explore all the different types of yoga that have developed in the history and the objectives and benefits of each type of Yoga. Schools of yoga or types of Yoga are set in terms of the objectives to be achieved and some general terms are: relaxation, breathing, yoga postures (asanas), concentration, inner detachment and devotion to God.  Neither type of yoga is tied to a specific religion, so that both the believer and the atheist can practice his/her methods without principles imposed against their religious convictions. 

Each of these schools or types of yoga uses a different method to unwrap the “chakras”.  Even so, anyone can benefit from Yoga, since it has a special type of technique for each type of personality and temperament. There are types or schools of Yoga that are static and others are dynamic. Some types of yoga will pay more attention to the standing yoga poses and breathing others. All these roads or types of yoga are not necessarily mutually exclusive.

Top Schools of Yoga (yoga types) 

1. Astanga yoga (yoga of ‘eight steps’ of Patanjali Sutras). This school of yoga attempts to incorporate the traditional eight limbs of yoga (known by the term ashtanga yoga or raja yoga) as expounded by Patanjali in his Yoga Sutras. It is believed to have been written between 400 and 200 BC, and is the main text of classical yoga. 

Here, the path of yoga consists of eight branches or practices: 
1 -. Yama:

  • ahimsa
  • satya
  • asteya
  • Brahmacharia.
  • aparigraha.

2 -. Niyama:

  • saucha
  • santosha
  • tapas
  • swadhyaya
  • pranidhana Iswara

3 -. Asana

4 -. Pranayama

5 -. Pratyahara

6 -. Dharan

7 -. Dhyana

8 -. Samadhi

2. Gnana Yoga (yoga of intellectual pursuit of the Absolute) ‘Yoga of knowledge’. Gnana (pronounced nasally as possible: guiana or nanny) means ‘knowledge’. It has the same root as the Greek word gnosis. This type of yoga is the path of knowledge. The systematic denial or disidentification of consciousness with different manifestations of energy. Being aware of Maya or illusion of the world, to get from the false to the real. When everything is denied what remains is the Self, when the Self is denied, what remains is the Self is also based on the study of scriptures or Vedas through intuition or direct knowledge. Jnana Yoga is the philosophical personalities, mental and intuitive. 

3. Karma Yoga (yoga of action dedicated to God) ‘Yoga of action’ or rather the service, full-time activities, words and mind to God. In Sanskrit karma means ‘action’, ie work and action through the physical and mental effort. This is the type of yoga of selfless action, action without reward. The practitioner strives to leave the ego aside, reaching purification. Is Yoga for action or active personalities.The Karma Yogi sees everything and everyone to the Absolute. 

4. Bhakti Yoga is seeking spiritual elevation, devotion to God, “or total surrender donation” for the love of god. It differs from the karma-yoga practitioners because they are interested in a more esoteric nature of God and its activities. Is Yoga of devotion, friendly personalities and emotional devotional trends, where the intelligentsia plays a secondary role. The practitioner puts all his energy into the image of the Absolute, transforming and purifying their emotions in a flow of pure love That. It is the sublimation of all emotions. The great religions are forms of Bhakti Yoga.

5. Hatha yoga

The physical type of yoga known as Hatha Yoga is a complete comprehensive health science. His techniques benefit the body, its functions and powers. Yoga uses the body as a tool of comfort and refinement. Its ancient methods are of great benefit and preventive efficacy, therapeutic and recuperative. 

This type of yoga is based on the energy flow of the body. The asanas (yoga postures), were developed to stimulate the flow of prana, the energy that gives life force. Prana, is activated by certain body positions that primarily stimulate the endocrine glands. In this way, we benefit from the free movement of our bodies a harmonious flow of energy that keeps us strong and healthy. 

Hatha Yoga is one of the forms taken by Raja Yoga or Astanga through mastery of the body and breathing to achieve that goal. This type of Yoga is to research the trend personalities, intellectual, inquisitive and rational. 

Currently Hatha Yoga, developed by Iyengar, is a type of yoga is believed practiced for more than 2 million people worldwide. It is a yoga that helps to develop a healthy lifestyle, good posture, balance and relaxation through constant practice and careful series of movements called asanas.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: